top of page
  • Josh Vossen

Being proactive at work


The Zeal team: Josh is 2nd from right

It’s brought me great satisfaction over the past two months investing myself into a new role in my work at Zeal. This opportunity arose out of my natural determination to involve myself in the mess of administration and finance, and offer to support the organisation where they were currently struggling. This proactive approach I took whilst not yet employed, ultimately lead to an opportunity to provide a greater impact; gaining the fulfilment of continued responsibility and higher levels of employment.

Psychological research has indicated that this type of proactive behaviour is becoming more and more necessary in today’s workplaces. Organisational psychology literature refers to proactive behaviour as ‘acting in advance’ and which seeks to ‘make a difference’. It is increasingly important to avoid passive behaviour and embrace innovative measures to stay ahead in vastly competitive markets, both in regards to change within the self and within the environment. Grant and Ashford (2008) note that his requires a new type of employee that does not just let life happen.

This process I’ve engaged with has been incredibly rewarding for me personally and for the organisation I’ve been involved with. It’s enabled me to link my strengths to my role and open opportunity to contribute in meaningful ways. However, what I’m also beginning to experience and what research also indicates, is that there are consequences to this type of proactive behaviour. In going beyond what is expected of me I take on stress in light of the demand on my mental, physical, and emotional resources. This can actually lead to a less productive working day, so one must be vigilant in balancing how much they chose to take on. Similarly, productive behaviour can also pose consequences for organisations, as there are often trade-offs in the short or long term.

In the end, we’re only effective as much as we are healthy, so be proactive in your workplaces and in cultivating health for yourself.


bottom of page