top of page
  • Organisational Psychology 2023 students

Ich will


Mia Wild


Using Implicit Leadership Theory, I will discuss the Bridge of the song Rammstein - Ich Will. The lyrics: “we want that you trust us, we want that you believe all of us, we want to see your hands, we want to drown in cheering, yes”, connects to my personal implicit representation (schema) of what a leader is supposed to look like and be like. Essentially, the lyrics propose, to me, that (bad) leaders want everybody to virtually obey them. This is my own personal stereotype of a leader, but when I think of a leader, my implicit, and automatic response is somebody who is ‘better than everybody else’, which is what the song emphasises. “We want that you trust us, we want that you believe all of us”, could propose that employees and even consumers bow down to leaders and accept the leader despite negative practices, in fear of (further) poor treatment. The song emphasises the unnoticed poor leadership practices within society today, and I believe that there are more bad leaders than good ones. Leaders who abuse their power, in my eyes, probably have gone through the process of becoming a leader (acknowledged leadership traits and gained relevant skills and experience), but despite these qualities, these traits are diminished as poor leaders have succumbed to the role and leadership status that societal norms place heavy emphasis on. The song brings to light the negative implications poor leaders have on society.




bottom of page